A Quick Guide to Overtime Pay Requirements

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that covered, non-exempt workers be paid overtime at the rate of at least one and one-half times their regular hourly wage.  Washington state law is very similar.  Because who is “covered” and “non-exempt” for overtime purposes can be confusing, it helps to speak to an experienced employment law attorney who can help you understand exactly how the law applies to your situation.

If you need employment law assistance, I invite you to call my office to schedule a free consultation to learn more about your overtime rights under state and federal law.

The FLSA does not require employers to provide raises, nor does it require extra pay for weekend or holiday work.  However, covered, non-exempt employees who work more than 40 hours in a week should be paid for the extra hours at the rate of “time and a half,” or one and one-half times their regular wage. For example, a worker whose regular wage is $10.00 per hour should receive $15.00 per hour for overtime work.

Some exceptions to the overtime requirement exist.  For instance, some emergency personnel and “exempt” or salaried workers are typically not covered by the FLSA’s overtime requirements. However, employers who incorrectly classify non-exempt workers as exempt workers to avoid paying overtime may be subject to lawsuits or other actions.  Workers must be correctly classified.

If you believe your employer has violated either federal law or Washington state law by failing to pay your overtime properly, don’t wait: call Teller Law at (206) 324-8969 to schedule a free consultation. As an experienced wage-and-hour lawyer, I can listen to the facts of your case and explain your legal rights and options.

« Back to Seattle Employment & Whistleblower Blog